SA-03-004 XML – Extensible Markup Language

Issue Date:  2/28/2003

Revision Effective Date:  2/28/2003


To establish XML standards for all State of Georgia Agencies that aligns with enterprise architecture as established by GTA.


All agencies of the State of Georgia which choose to implement/utilize XML.


All Agencies utilizing Extensible Markup Language (XML) to integrate State of Georgia information systems or transmit data between State of Georgia information technology resources shall adhere to the following enterprise XML standards:

1.     Extensible Markup Language (XML)


2.     Web Services Description Language (WSDL)


3.     Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) 1.2


4.     XSL Transformations (XSLT)


5.     XML Path Language (XPath)


6.     Extensible Stylesheet Language (XSL)


7.     Document Object Model (DOM) Level 1



O.C.G.A. §§ 50-25-4(a) (15), (23), (29)


Standard adjusted to include previous SOAP and WSDL for the purposes of maintaining backward compatibility with external systems; specifically to meet federal USDA requirements.


W3C – Accepted acronym for the World Wide Web Consortium. The World Wide Web Consortium is a consortium of over 500 member organizations that develop interoperable technology specifications, guidelines, software, and tools related to the Internet. The URL for their website is